Simple Treasures

Simple Treasures. Remember the old saying, stop and smell the roses or the hustle and bustle of life?

Matthew 6:21 – For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

Do we ever slow down and look at life. I mean, really look at life. I think if we did we’d see that time passes quickly!

Time defined by Merriam Webster: the thing that is measured as seconds, minutes, hours, days, years, etc.

The other day I was thinking back to how life was. A time, when days were simple and the kids were little. I wondered if then, was the time that I looked at the simple treasures of life. Was I slowing down? Did I see all the treasures  that the Lord had laid before me in the journey of life or was I too busy to stop?  Did I realize that my heart would focus on the treasures?

Life is kind of like an eye spy game, just on a large scale. We could spend each and every day spying something that is green, yellow, blue, big, little or beautiful. The question is, do we? The Lord has made this beautiful earth and what do we choose to see of it? I believe in this time of electronics, we will forget how to look upon the simple treasures of life.

Some of my favorite simple treasures are the Holy Bible that was my grandmothers, the fact that her writing is etched onto the pages blesses me each time I open it. Grandma took the time to underline the verses that helped her on the journey of life. That is a simple treasure. A hand written note from one of our children is also a simple treasure. There is something about penmanship that is beautiful.

Have you taken a walk lately? I did the other night. The snow was blowing, the sky was dark and the flakes were gently falling from the sky. The stillness of the earth was almost deafening. Another simple treasure. God has made so many beautiful things for us and I personally am too busy to stop and look at the treasures He has given.

This year I am encouraging our family to stop,slow down and look at the simple treasures of the day. I want us to be thankful for what the Lord has given. I believe that if we do slow down, we will fill our hearts and minds with the simple good things of God, I am praying that as we look upon the simple things, He is magnified.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end.

Simple treasures. Taking the time to invest in another persons life, getting to know them. Invest. Slow down. I don’t mean sending a text message, instant message of Facebook post. I mean sitting across a table from a person with your phones put away, talking. If we don’t take the time to invest in others what are we really doing for the Kingdom? Friendship is a simple treasure.

Have you slowed down enough to notice the simple things in life, like a babies lips pursed together or how a five year old eyes light up when they can figure out a word on a page and are reading? Or when your college student understands why your didn’t allow them to do the same thing everyone else was doing? Have you stopped to look into the eyes of your children to see what they are really saying to you? If you haven’t maybe now is the time to slow down and enjoy the simple treasures.

My husband and I were home alone the other evening and we were reflecting on the simple treasure of our family. Treasure like when they are all home, I can’t keep enough food and snacks around. The simple treasure of voices, laughter and sarcasm. When I look at the pictures on the wall of when they were little I think those were days to remember. Now that they are young adults, I pray that these are the days to remember.  Taking time to enjoy the simple treasures of family.

If you would like, begin looking around. Eye spy some simple treasure that the Lord has given each and every day. Make it a family game, a family tradition, like we are.

Most importantly, take time to be still and read God’s word. Allow the simple treasures of the Bible to fill your heart and mind with good and force out the negative. Take time to write your prayers to the Lord, then allow him to fill you up. Seek His love and guidance.

Are you storing your treasures for yourself? Be sure you take the time to share your treasures with someone else. They may be a blessing.

Today’s simple treasure. Holding my husbands hand.

Does your heart reflect your treasure?

About hmglori

Hello, About me. I am a daughter, sister, mother, aunt, friend, mentor, teacher of little ones. I like to laugh and have fun. I am trying to live for the Lord in this fallen world hoping I can make a difference in someones life. I hope you enjoy the blogs I post. Thank you for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment